Alain Heyne



Alain Heyne is a partner and member of our Business law group, and he focuses his practice mainly in that sector. With regard to private financing, Mr. Heyne advises financial institutions and corporations on the implementation of financing structures.

In his business law practice, Mr. Heyne handles corporate sales, mergers, and acquisitions as well as corporate organizations and reorganizations. He also drafts business agreements such as distribution and licensing agreements, employment and service contracts, as well as partnership and shareholder agreements.

Mr. Heyne regularly represents financial institutions, corporations, and individuals in matters of business and banking law before various tribunals.

During his studies at the Université de Sherbrooke law faculty, Mr. Heyne was awarded numerous prizes and scholarships, including the Prix du doyen (Dean's award) and the Barreau du Québec award for the top academic results during his three years as an undergraduate.

He taught securities law at the Université de Sherbrooke law faculty. Mr. Heyne has also taught in the financial planning diploma program at Université du Québec à Montréal (UQÀM) and has lectured on prior claims, mortgages, and the registration of rights in the Québec Bar admission course.

Mr. Heyne was Bâtonnier (president) of the Barreau de Saint-François from 2010 to 2011, and he sat on the board of that section from 1999 to 2001. Mr. Heyne is director of the Centre de recherche médicale de l'Université de Sherbrooke. 


  • Co-author of fascicle 9, entitled Séquestre intérimaire et séquestre de la partie XI de la Loi sur la faillite et l’insolvabilité, published in JurisClasseur Québec - Collection Droit des Affaires, « Faillite, Insolvabilité et Restructuration », LexisNexis Canada inc., December 2010


  • The Best Lawyers in Canada in the field of Banking and Finance Law,, since 2021
Best Lawyers 2022


  • LL.B., Université de Sherbrooke, 1994

Boards and Professional Affiliations

  • Member of the Board of Directors of the CHUS Fondation, 2015-2020
Back to the Team page