Two more Lavery lawyers named Advocatus Emeritus (Ad. E.)

Lavery is pleased to announce that Ann Bigué and Jules Brière will receive Advocatus Emeritus (Ad. E.) awards on May 28th at the Québec Bar’s annual convention in Montreal.

The title of Advocatus Emeritus, which follows the names of recipients of this honour, was created in 2007 to recognize the professional excellence and outstanding contribution of a lawyer to the advancement of the profession or of the Bar’s work.

Ann Bigué practices administrative, constitutional and regulatory law, with an emphasis on matters related to aboriginal law, as well as energy and natural resources law. She is recognized for her expertise in aboriginal and treaty rights. She has assumed leadership in complex litigation matters and has extensive experience in the negotiation of agreements between governments, Aboriginal communities and developers related to energy and natural resource development projects in Canada.

Ms. Bigué is recognized in the Canadian Legal Lexpert Directory as a leading lawyer in the field of aboriginal law. She is also named in the Best Lawyers in Canada directory as a leading lawyer in the area of regulatory matters relating to energy.

Jules Brière practices constitutional, administrative and social (health) law, as well as public domain law (hydro-electricity production, transportation and distribution, forestry and land management). He has, on many occasions, advised governments as well as various government departments and public and parapublic agencies on the legal aspects of the management and development of resources in the public domain, the legal regime pertaining to the protection of agricultural land, and activities and relations between the government and Aboriginal peoples.

As a jurist, Mr. Brière also took part in the planning, drafting and review before parliamentary committees of many government bills introduced in the National Assembly of Québec. He is the author of several publications dealing with administrative law and constitutional law. In addition, he has held the Chaire de rédaction juridique Louis-Philippe-Pigeon de l'Université Laval since 2006.

Seven Lavery lawyers have previously been named Advocatus Emeritus: Odette Jobin-Laberge, Pierre Bourque, Raymond Doray, J. Vincent O’Donnell, Louis Payette, Jean Saint-Onge and Michel Yergeau.

Back to the news list