Publications

Packed with valuable information, our publications help you stay in touch with the latest developments in the fields of law affecting you, whatever your sector of activity. Our professionals are committed to keeping you informed of breaking legal news through their analysis of recent judgments, amendments, laws, and regulations.

Advanced search
  • Nullity ab initio – misrepresentations during policy underwriting process

    On August 18, 2016, the Honourable François Duprat, writing for the Superior Court of Québec, rendered judgment in the action brought by Jimmy Laporte (the “Plaintiff”) against his property insurer, Intact Insurance Company.1 The Court dismissed the Plaintiff’s action and declared the insurance policy in issue void ab initio because of the Plaintiff’s misrepresentations to his mortgage creditor. The issue On July 24, 2011, Plaintiff’s home was seriously damaged by fire. Plaintiff claimed damages from Intact for the total loss of the building, loss of contents, and living expenses. Intact refused to pay. The Court summarized the insurer’s position as follows: The insurer refuses to pay the claim and offers a defence on all points: the fire was criminal and was caused with the complicity of the insured. The insurance policy is void ab initio given Jimmy Laporte’s ties to organized crime. The insurer also submits that the policy must be declared void ab initio since Mr. Laporte cannot prove his income and, in fact, declares no income, and gave his mortgage creditor a false picture of his financial situation. In addition, Mr. Laporte kept cannabis for the purpose of trafficking in his residence and this triggers the exclusion for crimes committed by the insured or results in cancellation of the insurance policy given the uncertain moral hazard. Last, the amount of the claim for contents is exaggerated or false and provides grounds for rejecting the claim. [our translation] After its analysis, the Court accepted only one mean of defence: the misrepresentations made by the Plaintiff to his mortgage creditor. Reasons for judgment on the nullity ab initio based on the misrepresentations made to the mortgage creditor Intact submitted that false documents were provided to the mortgage creditor by the Plaintiff to obtain a mortgage loan. According to Intact’s underwriting department, knowledge of that situation would have resulted in refusal to insure, in that the Plaintiff’s concealment of the truth from his mortgage creditor corrupted the moral hazard at the time the policy was issued. Intact explained that it had also refused to compensate the mortgage creditor, alleging, inter alia, that it had been negligent in its analysis of the documents on the basis of which the loan was granted. It appears from the facts presented to the Court that the mortgage creditor received a certificate of employment signed by the Plaintiff, a statement of income and deductions showing an annual salary of $84,000, and tax returns from the Canada Revenue Agency and Revenu Québec. Plaintiff admitted that the content of the employment certificate was false. However, he stated that he had never seen the statement of income and deductions and he did not recognize the tax returns introduced in evidence. The Court did not accept Plaintiff’s testimony; rather, it found that he lied in his loan application. In its analysis, the Court pointed out that the insurer must prove that the undeclared information was material to its appraisal of the risk or its decision to cover it, within the meaning of article 2408 of the Civil Code of Québec. The insurer must also prove the existence of a connection between the circumstance in issue and the risk covered. The Court concluded that Intact had met its burden and proved that the Plaintiff’s misrepresentations to his mortgage creditor were material to the appraisal of the risk. The Court noted that it is not the existence of a loan that created a problem; it is the fact that Plaintiff obtained the loan as a result of his misrepresentations. The Court wrote: ... The loan is closely connected with the purchase of the residence and the mortgage affects the insured property. There is nothing surprising or illogical about the insurer’s assertion that if it had known, at the time the policy was issued, that the loan had been granted on the basis of false information, it would not have accepted the risk. Three underwriters testified for Intact, stating that coverage would have been refused if Plaintiff’s misrepresentations to his mortgage creditor had been disclosed. No contradictory evidence was presented on that point. Conclusion Based on this decision, it appears that misrepresentations made by an insured outside the context of the purchase of an insurance policy can constitute a material change in the moral hazard and may be relied on in support of an application to declare a policy void ab initio. Very often, a mortgage creditor’s interest in an insurance policy is recognized by the inclusion of a mortgage clause. However, insurers ordinarily have little information about how the loans were obtained, other than the identity of the creditor. To some extent, this decision allows insurers to investigate more thoroughly, beyond the representations made by the insured during the policy underwriting process, to try to identify contradictions, reluctance to answer and misrepresentations made to other parties. The issue remains regarding how far they will be allowed to go in gathering information. We however note that a notice of appeal was filed by plaintiff on or around September 20, 2016. To be continued. Laporte v. Intact, Compagnie d’assurances (Axa Assurances inc.), 2016 QCCS 3922.

    Read more
  • On appeal from a judgment on a Wellington-type motion

    The Court of Appeal of Quebec recently ruled on a leave to appeal from an interlocutory judgment dismissing a Wellington type motion seeking to order an insurer to take up the defence of its insured. The decision of the Court in Technologies CII inc. v. Société d’assurances générales Northbridge1 follows the one issued on April 21, 2015 by the Honourable Michel A. Pinsonnault, dismissing a motion of this type in the context of litigation opposing the Attorney General of Quebec (hereinafter, the “AGQ”) and the Commission scolaire de la Rivière du Nord (the “School Board”) and, among others, Technologies CII Inc. (“CII”) and its liability insurer Northbridge General Insurance Corporation (“Northbridge”). After analysis, Ms. Justice Marie-France Bich concluded that an interlocutory judgment dismissing a Wellington-type motion must still be recognized as a judgment contemplated in second paragraph of the first alinea of article 29 Code of Civil Procedure (Quebec) (“CCP”). THE DISPUTE CII is a business specializing in the installation of heating and air conditioning systems. It was sued, solidarily with other defendants, for an amount of $16,537,687.00 by the AGQ and the School Board for a fire which occurred on September 21, 2011. The plaintiffs alleged that the fire was caused by the negligence of CII while performing its work, since it failed to comply with the legal requirements and standards of care applicable to welding activities. After it conducted a statutory examination of a CII representative, Northbridge refused to take up the defence of its insured on the ground that the coverage provided under the insurance policy was suspended at the time the events took place. It argued that CII had failed to comply with an endorsement, thus contravening to article 2412 of the Civil Code of Québec (“CCQ”) which provides that a breach of warranty aggravating the risk suspends the insurance coverage. The endorsement in question set out specific conditions for the control of sparks during welding activities, such as the use of protective screens or canvases. Therefore, Northbridge blamed CII for having breached what it considered to be a warranty by carrying out welding work in a closed environment without using any form of fire protection. For its part, CII argued that the endorsement did not constitute a warranty, but an endorsement modifying the terms of the policy. It added that this endorsement could not be held against CII because it had not been brought to the attention of a person in authority, that it did not form part of the original policy and because Northbridge would not have complied with the provisions of article 2405 CCQ. Hence CII filed a Wellington-type motion with the Superior Court to force Northbridge to take up its defence in the proceedings against the AGQ and the School Board. THE JUDGMENT ON THE WELLINGTON-TYPE MOTION2 The Superior Court concluded that, based on the allegations of the proceedings, the insurance policy, the exhibits filed and the statutory examination, CII had clearly breached the terms of the endorsement. According to the Court, [TRANSLATION] “there is no doubt that when the work was performed by its employees [CII’s] on the day the fire occurred, the employees did not use any protective screen or asbestos canvas to limit the spread of sparks (…).” The Court added that the endorsement indeed constituted a warranty incurred in the original policy, dismissing CII’s arguments and thus, its Wellington-type motion. THE LEAVE TO APPEAL FROM THE JUDGMENT OF THE SUPERIOR COURT On the basis of article 511 CCP, CII applied for a leave to appeal from the judgment of the Superior Court. From the outset, the Court of Appeal reiterated the two conditions which are necessary to obtain a leave to appeal from an interlocutory judgment, namely: the judgment is one that is contemplated in article 29 CCP; and the pursuit of justice requires that the leave be granted. The Court of Appeal wondered whether the case law prior to 2012, according to which a judgment dismissing a Wellington-type motion is a judgment contemplated in the second paragraph of the first alinea of article 29, still applied in the wake of the case of Elitis Pharma inc. v. RX Job inc.3 In this last case, Justices Rochon and Kasirer wrote that the sole economic harm or the financial or business inconvenience arising from an interlocutory judgment was not sufficient to consider same as a judgment ordering the doing of something which cannot be remedied by the final judgment. The Court concluded that it must still be recognized that an interlocutory judgment dismissing a Wellington-type motion may be appealed on the basis of this provision. Indeed, in addition to the economic harm caused to the insured by the dismissal of this type of motion, the Court was of the view that the insured is also deprived of one of the substantive rights provided in his insurance policy and by article 2503 CCQ. The second criteria, which relates to the pursuit of justice is not discussed in detail in this decision. The Court simply mentioned that this condition weighed in favour of granting the leave to appeal. In the end, the Court, reiterated that a judgment which dismisses a Wellington-type motion is a judgment contemplated in the second paragraph of the first alinea of article 29 CCP. WHAT ABOUT THE LEAVE TO APPEAL A JUDGMENT GRANTING A WELLINGTON-TYPE MOTION? If it seems henceforth clear that a judgment dismissing a Wellington-type motion is a judgment contemplated in the second paragraph of the first alinea article 29 CCP, such is not necessarily the case of a judgment granting such a motion. Indeed, the issue remains as to whether the harm suffered by an insurer who is required to take up the defence of its insured is purely economic and may be remedied by the final judgment. In the judgment rendered in the Lloyd’s Underwriters v. 4170831 Canada inc.4 on August 12 last, Justice Kasirer accepted, for discussion purposes only, that an interlocutory judgment allowing in part a Wellington-type motion satisfies the conditions of section 29 CCP., but denied the leave to appeal from on the basis of the pursuit of justice criteria. However, referring to the decision of Ms. Justice Bich, Justice Kasirer wrote the following: [TRANSLATION] “One may wonder, in circumstances where the harm suffered by the insurer is purely economic and may be redressed on the merits, whether article 29 CCP is truly satisfied in all cases. I note the relevance of the discussion of this issue by my colleague Ms. Justice Bich in the context of the dismissal of a Wellington-type motion in Technologies CII inc. v. Société d’assurances générales Northbridge, 20015 QCCA 1246, par.[9] (sitting alone). This being said, in view of my conclusion respecting the criteria set out in article 511 CCP, I reckon that it is not necessary to rule on the issue for the purposes of this motion.” Having determined that the pursuit of justice did not weight in favour of granting the leave to appeal, the Court preferred not to deal with the issue of whether the judgment allowing a Wellington-type motion is a judgment contemplated in the second paragraph of the first alinea of article 29 CCP. We’ll take a raincheck! 1 2015 QCCA 1246. 2 2015 QCCS 1988. 3 2012 QCCA 1348. 4 2015 QCCA 1333.

    Read more
  • OSFI’s new expectations with respect to the governance of federally-regulated financial institutions

    The quality of corporate governance practices increasingly represents a key factor to maintaining the trust of depositors, policyholders and most stakeholders who are active on capital markets. Considering the unique features of financial institutions and the risks arising from their responsibilities, some aspects of corporate governance are particularly important for these institutions, including banks, insurers, trust companies, loan companies and cooperative credit associations.On January 28, 2013, the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada (hereinafter “OSFI”) published the final version of its Corporate Governance Guideline. OSFI previously issued for comment a draft guideline on August 7, 2012. Several comments submitted at that time were taken into account by OSFI.The new version of this guideline is intended for all federally-regulated financial institutions (hereinafter “FRFIs”), which are supervised and regulated by OSFI. It does not include the Canadian branch operations of foreign banks and insurance companies since they have no board of directors in the country. However, OSFI expects their Chief Agent or Principal Officer, who oversee matters of corporate governance in Canada, to be acquainted with the Guideline.OSFI has updated the former 2003 Guideline because it was no longer in accordance with OSFI’s Supervisory Framework, revised in 2010, and to reflect the newly adopted best international standards and practices with regard to corporate governance. By updating the Guideline, OSFI is taking a stand on the global financial crisis that started in 2008 and the corporate governance of financial institutions, which has become an issue of growing importance in the last 10 years.The new version of the Guideline focuses on the following core objectives:  ensure that FRFIs have prudent corporate governance practices and procedures that contribute to their safety and soundness; promote industry best practices in corporate governance; harmonize the OSFI Guideline with the Supervisory Framework, revised in 2010 and in effect since 2011; and address international standards as articulated by a number of international organizations, such as the Financial Stability Board, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision and the International Association of Insurance Supervisors.The Guideline was also updated to reinforce the role of boards and senior management, including as follows:  enhance the effectiveness of boards, particularly with regard to their responsibilities and competencies; strengthen FRFIs’ risk governance, including by developing a “Risk Appetite Framework”; and improve the overall internal control framework of FRFIs by clarifying the roles of the Chief Risk Officer and Audit Committee.OSFI expects FRFI boards and senior management to be proactive and knowledgeable about the corporate governance best practices applicable to their institution. OSFI also expects FRFIs to assess their operations according to the Guideline and take appropriate action to ensure compliance. FRFIs are required to put in writing the results of their self-assessment and the related action plans by May 1, 2013. Self-assessments are to be retained by FRFIs and made available to OSFI upon request.OSFI expects that all FRFIs will fully implement the Revised Guideline on corporate governance by January 31, 2014.

    Read more
1 2

Publications

Riches en information pertinente, nos publications vous permettent d’être à l’affût de l’actualité juridique qui vous touche, quel que soit votre secteur d’activité. Nos professionnels s’engagent à vous tenir au fait des dernières nouvelles juridiques, à travers l’analyse des derniers jugements, modifications et entrées en vigueur législatives et réglementaires.

Recherche avancée
  • Nullité ab initio – déclarations mensongères hors processus de souscription

    Le 18 août 2016, la Cour supérieure du Québec, sous la plume de l’honorable François Duprat, rendait jugement dans l’affaire opposant Jimmy Laporte (ci-après le « Demandeur ») à son assureur biens Intact, Compagnie d’assurances1. La Cour rejette le recours du Demandeur et déclare la police d’assurance en litige nulle ab initio en raison des déclarations mensongères du Demandeur à son créancier hypothécaire. Le résumé qui suit présente les grandes lignes de cette affaire. Le litige Le 24 juillet 2011, la résidence du Demandeur est gravement endommagée par un incendie. Le Demandeur réclame à son assureur les dommages pour la perte totale du bâtiment, la perte du contenu ainsi que des frais de subsistance. Intact refuse de payer. La Cour résume comme suit la position de l’assureur : « L’assureur refuse de payer la réclamation et offre une défense tous azimuts : l’incendie est criminel et provoqué avec la complicité de l’assuré. La police d’assurance est nulle ab initio vu les liens de Jimmy Laporte avec le crime organisé. L’assureur est également d’avis que la police doit de toute manière être considérée comme nulle ab initio puisque Monsieur Laporte ne peut justifier ses revenus et, en fait, n’en déclare pas et a faussement dépeint sa situation financière à son créancier hypothécaire. Au surplus, Monsieur Laporte conservait du cannabis pour fins de trafic à sa résidence et ceci amène l’application de l’exclusion pour les gestes criminels posés par l’assuré ou l’annulation de la police d’assurance vu le risque moral douteux. Enfin, le montant de la réclamation pour le contenu est exagéré ou faux et déclenche le rejet de l’indemnité. » Après analyse, la Cour ne retient qu’un seul moyen de défense, soit celui des déclarations mensongères faites par le Demandeur à son créancier hypothécaire. Les motifs du jugement sur la nullité ab initio pour déclarations mensongères fournies au créancier hypothécaire Intact soumet que des faux documents ont été fournis par le Demandeur au créancier hypothécaire afin d’obtenir un prêt. Selon Intact, la connaissance de cette situation aurait entraîné un refus d’assurer puisque le fait que le Demandeur ait caché la vérité à son créancier hypothécaire corrompt de façon irrémédiable son appréciation du risque moral au moment de la souscription. À cet égard, Intact explique avoir également refusé d’indemniser le créancier hypothécaire, lui reprochant sa négligence dans l’analyse des documents pour justifier le prêt. Il appert des faits mis en preuve que le créancier hypothécaire a reçu une attestation d’emploi signée par le Demandeur, un relevé des revenus et retenues démontrant un salaire annuel de 84 000 $ ainsi que des avis de cotisation de l’Agence du Revenu du Canada et de Revenu Québec. Le Demandeur admet que le contenu de l’attestation d’emploi est faux. Il indique cependant ne pas avoir pris connaissance du relevé des revenus et retenues et ne pas reconnaître les avis de cotisation mis en preuve. La Cour ne retient pas le témoignage du Demandeur, concluant plutôt que celui-ci a menti dans sa demande de prêt. Dans son analyse, la Cour rappelle que l’assureur doit démontrer que les informations non déclarées étaient pertinentes à son appréciation du risque ou à sa décision de l’accepter au sens de l’article 2408 du Code civil du Québec. L’assureur doit également prouver l’existence d’un lien de connexité entre la circonstance en cause et le risque pris en charge. Selon ce qui précède, le Cour conclut qu’Intact a rempli son fardeau et démontré que les déclarations mensongères du Demandeur à son créancier hypothécaire constituent un élément pertinent à l’appréciation du risque. La Cour précise que ce n’est pas l’existence d’un prêt qui crée un problème, mais plutôt le fait que le Demandeur ait obtenu le prêt en vertu de faux renseignements. La Cour écrit : « (...) Le prêt est intimement lié à l’achat de la résidence et l’hypothèque affecte le bien assuré. Il n’y a rien de surprenant ou d’illogique dans l’affirmation de l’assureur que s’il avait su, au moment de l’émission de la police, que le prêt avait été consenti sous de faux renseignements, il n’aurait pas voulu du risque. » Trois souscripteurs ont témoigné, pour Intact, à l’effet qu’un refus d’assurer aurait suivi si les déclarations mensongères du Demandeur à son créancier hypothécaire avaient été dévoilées. Aucune preuve contradictoire n’a été présentée à ce sujet. À retenir Aux termes de cette décision, il apparaît que les déclarations mensongères d’un preneur faites en dehors du contexte de la souscription d’une police d’assurance peuvent constituer un changement matériel du risque moral et peuvent être invoquées au soutien d’une demande afin que soit déclarée la nullité ab initio de la police. Très souvent, l’intérêt du créancier hypothécaire dans la police d’assurance est consacré par l’inclusion d’une clause hypothécaire. Toutefois, les assureurs ne détiennent normalement que peu d’information relativement à l’obtention des prêts, si ce n’est que l’identité du créancier. Dans une certaine mesure, la décision permet aux assureurs d’approfondir leur enquête au-delà des déclarations faites par le preneur dans le cadre de la souscription et de tenter d’identifier des contradictions, réticences et déclarations mensongères faites à d’autres parties. Une question demeure toutefois, à savoir jusqu’où pourra aller la cueillette d’information. Laporte c. Intact, Compagnie d’assurances (Axa Assurances inc.), 2016 QCCS 3922.

    Lire la suite
  • En appel d’un jugement sur requête de type Wellington

    La Cour d'appel du Québec se prononce sur la permission d'appeler d'un jugement interlocutoire rejetant une requête de type Wellington, visant à enjoindre un assureur d'assumer la défense d'un assuré. La décision Technologies CII inc. c. Société d'assurances générales Northbridge1 fait suite à celle rendue le 21 avril 2015 par l'honorable Michel A. Pinsonnault, rejetant une requête de ce type dans le cadre du litige opposant la Procureure Générale du Québec (ci-après « PGQ ») et la Commission scolaire de la Rivière du Nord (la « Commission Scolaire ») à, entre autres, Technologies CII inc. (« CII ») et son assureur responsabilité Société d'assurance générale Northbridge (« Northbridge »). Après analyse, la juge Marie-France Bich, juge unique, conclut qu'il faut continuer de reconnaître que le jugement interlocutoire rejetant une requête de type Wellington est un de ceux que vise l'article 29, al. 1(2) du Code de procédure civile du Québec (« C.p.c. »). LE LITIGE CII est une entreprise spécialisée dans l'installation de systèmes de chauffage et de climatisation. Elle est poursuivie, solidairement avec d'autres défenderesses, pour la somme de 16 537 687,00 $ par la PGQ et la Commission Scolaire pour un incendie survenu le 21 septembre 2011. Ces dernières allèguent que l'incendie a été causé par la négligence de CII dans le cadre de l'exécution de ses travaux, celle-ci n'ayant pas respecté les obligations juridiques et les normes en vigueur en matière de soudage. Northbridge, après avoir procédé à l'interrogatoire statutaire d'un représentant de CII, refuse de prendre fait et cause pour son assuré, prétendant que la garantie prévue à la police d'assurance était suspendue au moment des événements en raison du défaut de CII d'avoir respecté un avenant d'exclusion, contrevenant ainsi à l'article 2412 du Code civil du Québec (« C.c.Q. »), qui prévoit qu'un manquement aux engagements formels aggravant le risque suspend la garantie. L'avenant en question prévoyait des conditions précises en matière de contrôle des étincelles lors de travaux de soudure, tel que l'utilisation d'écrans ou de toiles protecteurs. Northbridge reproche ainsi à CII d'avoir violé ce qu'elle considère être un engagement formel en procédant à des travaux de soudure dans un endroit fermé sans utiliser aucune forme de protection incendie, le tout contrairement aux dispositions de l'avenant d'exclusion. Pour sa part, CII prétend que l'avenant d'exclusion ne constitue pas un engagement formel, mais un avenant d'exclusion modifiant les modalités de la police. Elle ajoute que cet avenant ne lui est pas opposable, notamment parce qu'il n'a pas été porté à la connaissance d'une personne en autorité, qu'il ne faisait pas partie de la police originale et que les dispositions de l'article 2405 C.c.Q. n'ont pas été respectées. C'est dans ce contexte que CII s'adresse à la Cour supérieure afin de contraindre Northbridge à assumer sa défense dans le cadre du litige l'opposant à la PGQ et à la Commission Scolaire. LE JUGEMENT SUR LA REQUÊTE DE TYPE WELLINGTON 2 Au terme de son analyse, la Cour supérieure conclut que, en fonction des allégations des procédures, de la police d'assurance, des pièces produites et de l'interrogatoire statutaire, CII a clairement violé les modalités de l'avenant d'exclusion. Selon la Cour, « il ne fait aucun doute que lors des travaux exécutés par [l]es employés [de CII] le jour de l'incendie, ces derniers n'ont pu utiliser aucun écran protecteur ou toile en amiante pour limiter la propagation des flammèches et des étincelles (...). » La Cour ajoute que l'avenant d'exclusion constituait bel et bien un engagement formel prévu à la police originale, rejetant les arguments plaidés par CII et, de ce fait, sa requête de type Wellington. LA PERMISSION D'APPELER DU JUGEMENT DE LA COUR SUPÉRIEUR Se fondant sur l'article 511 C.p.c., CII sollicite la permission d'appeler du jugement de la Cour supérieure. D'entrée de jeu, la Cour d'appel réitère les deux conditions nécessaires pour obtenir la permission d'en appeler d'un jugement interlocutoire, soit : le jugement est l'un de ceux visés à l'article 29 C.p.c.; et les fins de la justice militent en faveur de l'octroi de la permission. La Cour d'appel s'interroge à savoir si le courant jurisprudentiel antérieur à 2012, selon lequel le jugement rejetant une requête de type Wellington est un jugement visé par l'article 29, al. 1(2) C.p.c., tenait toujours à la suite de l'arrêt Elitis Pharma inc. c. RX Job inc.>3 où les juges Rochon et Kasirer écrivaient que le seul préjudice économique ou encore l'inconvénient de nature financière ou commercial du fait d'un jugement interlocutoire n'était pas suffisant. À ce sujet, la Cour conclut qu'il faut continuer de reconnaître que le jugement interlocutoire rejetant une requête de type Wellington peut faire l'objet d'un appel en vertu de cette disposition. En effet, outre le préjudice économique causé à l'assuré par le rejet de ce type de requête, la Cour est d'avis que celui-ci se trouve également privé de l'un des droits substantiels que lui confère sa police d'assurance, prévu également à l'article 2503 C.c.Q. Le second critère lié aux fins de la justice n'est pas abordé en détail dans cette décision, où il est simplement mentionné que les fins de la justice militaient en faveur de la permission de l'appel. Au final, la Cour accueille la permission d'appeler du jugement de la Cour supérieure, réitérant que le jugement qui rejette une requête de type Wellington est de ceux que vise l'article 29, al. 1(2) C.p.c. ET LA PERMISSION D'APPELER D'UN JUGEMENT QUI ACCUEILLE UNE REQUÊTE DE TYPE WELLINGTON? S'il semble désormais clair qu'un jugement rejetant une requête de type Wellington est de ceux visés à l'article 29, al. 1(2) C.p.c., ce n'est pas nécessairement le cas d'un jugement accueillant une telle requête. En effet, la question demeure à savoir si le préjudice subi par un assureur qui se voit contraint d'assumer la défense de son assuré est purement économique et réparable au fond. Dans la décision Lloyd's Underwriters c. 4170831 Canada inc.>4 rendue le 12 août dernier, le juge Kasirer accepte, pour fins de discussion seulement, que le jugement interlocutoire accueillant en partie une requête de type Wellington satisfaisait aux conditions de l'article 29 C.p.c. et rejette la permission d'appeler du jugement interlocutoire sur la base du critère des fins de la justice. Or, se référant à la décision de la juge Bich, le juge Kasirer mentionne : « On pourrait se demander, dans les circonstances où le préjudice subi par l'assureur est purement économique et réparable au fond, si l'article 29 C.p.c. est réellement satisfait dans tous les cas. Je souligne la pertinence de la discussion de ce point par ma collègue la juge Bich dans le cadre du rejet d'une demande de type Wellington dans Technologies CII inc. c. Société d'assurances générales Northbridge, 2015 QCCA 1246, paragr. [9] (juge unique). Cela dit, j'estime qu'il n'est pas nécessaire de trancher la question aux fins de la présente requête compte tenu de ma conclusion en regard du critère énoncé à l'article 511 C.p.c. » Ayant déterminé que les fins de la justice ne militaient pas en faveur de la permission d'appeler, la Cour a préféré ne pas traiter de la question à savoir si le jugement accueillant une requête de type Wellington était un de ceux visés à l'article 29, al. 1(2) C.p.c. Ce n'est que partie remise. 12015 QCCA 1246. 22015 QCCS 1988. 3 2012 QCCA 1348. 4 2015 QCCA 1333.

    Lire la suite
  • Les nouvelles attentes du BSIF à l'égard de la gouvernance des institutions financières fédérales

    La qualité des pratiques de gouvernance d’entreprise est un facteur de plus en plus important dans le maintien de la confiance des déposants, des assurés et de l’ensemble des intervenants du marché financier. En raison de leur caractère distinctif et des risques qu’elles doivent prendre, certains aspects de la gouvernance d’entreprise revêtent une importance particulière pour les institutions financières, soit les banques, les sociétés d’assurances, les sociétés de fiducie, les sociétés de prêt et les associations coopératives de crédit.Le 28 janvier 2013, le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières Canada (ci-après « BSIF ») a publié la version finale de sa Ligne directrice sur la gouvernance d’entreprise, dont un premier projet avait été publié le 7 août dernier et avait fait l’objet d’un exercice de consultation auprès du public. Plusieurs des commentaires alors soumis ont été pris en considération par le BSIF.La nouvelle version de cette ligne directrice s’adresse à toutes les institutions financières fédérales (« IFF ») surveillées et réglementées par le BSIF. Elle ne s’adresse cependant pas aux succursales canadiennes de banques et de sociétés d’assurances étrangères puisqu’elles n’ont pas de conseil d’administration au Canada, mais le BSIF s’attend toutefois à ce que leur agent principal ou leur dirigeant principal, qui s’occupe des questions de gouvernance d’entreprise au Canada, connaisse cette ligne directrice.Le BSIF met ainsi à jour l’ancienne ligne directrice parue en 2003 qui n’était plus conforme au Cadre de surveillance du BSIF qui avait été révisé en 2010 et s’ajuste également aux nouvelles normes et pratiques exemplaires internationales en la matière. Cette mise à jour permet au BSIF de réagir du même coup à la crise financière mondiale amorcée en 2008 et à l’attention accrue dont a fait l’objet la gouvernance des institutions financières au cours des 10 dernières années.Les principaux objectifs de cette nouvelle version de la Ligne directrice sont les suivants :  veiller à ce que les IFF adoptent des pratiques et des procédures de gouvernance d’entreprise dictées par la prudence et qui contribuent à leur sûreté et à leur solidité; promouvoir les pratiques sectorielles exemplaires en matière de gouvernance d’entreprise; harmoniser la Ligne directrice avec le Cadre de surveillance du BSIF, révisé en 2010 et en vigueur depuis 2011; et suivre les nouvelles normes internationales émanant d’organismes comme le Conseil de stabilité financière, l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques, le Comité de Bâle sur le contrôle bancaire et l’International Association of Insurance Supervisors.La Ligne directrice a été également révisée pour mettre en valeur le rôle du conseil d’administration et de la haute direction, entre autres en visant à :  accroître l’efficacité du conseil d’administration, notamment en ce qui concerne ses attributions et ses compétences; renforcer le dispositif de gouvernance du risque des IFF, notamment en élaborant un « cadre de gestion de la propension à prendre des risques »; et renforcer le cadre global de contrôle interne des IFF en précisant le rôle de l’agent principal de gestion des risques et du comité d’audit.Le conseil d’administration et la haute direction des IFF devront donc être proactifs et bien connaître les pratiques exemplaires applicables à leur institution en matière de gouvernance d’entreprise. Le BSIF s’attend d’ailleurs à ce que les IFF examinent leurs activités à la lumière de cette ligne directrice et prennent les mesures nécessaires pour s’y conformer. Les IFF devront rendre compte par écrit de cet examen ainsi que des mesures prévues pour s’y conformer d’ici le 1er mai 2013. Ces institutions devront également conserver les documents relatifs à cet examen dans leurs dossiers et les produire au BSIF sur demande.Il est prévu que toutes les IFF devront se conformer à cette nouvelle version de la Ligne directrice sur la gouvernance d’entreprise d’ici le 31 janvier 2014.

    Lire la suite
1 2