Raphaël H. SchachterQ.C., Ad.E.



Raphaêl H. Schachter is a partner and practises exclusively in the areas of criminal law, penal law, and the penal aspects of competition law. He served as Quebec Crown prosecutor from 1969 to 1972 and as federal Crown prosecutor from 1972 to 1976. He has appeared before the courts of every jurisdiction in Canada, including on numerous occasions the Supreme Court of Canada.

Mr. Schachter was senior partner in the law firm Lapointe, Schachter, Champagne and Talbot. He then joined Lavery, de Billy as partner and created the first criminal and penal law group at the service of corporations in a major Québec law firm.

Mr. Schachter published an article on criminal law ethics in a textbook titled Taking the Law Into Your Own Hands: Child Abduction and the Defence of Necessity, one of eight texts penned by lawyers who had lectured at the University of Windsor Law Faculty in the previous eight years.

Mr. Schachter has established an endowment fund and an annual scholarship in criminal law at Université de Montréal, his alma mater.

Representative mandates

  • Served as counsel in the public inquiry on Somalia, the Poitras Commission, and the Gomery Commission.

Professional and community activities

  • Counsel for the Murdered or Missing Persons' Families' Association
  • Board of governors of the Leave Out Violence (LOVE) non-profit organization
  • President of the criminal law section of the Canadian Bar Association (Quebec division) (1984 to 1988)


  • The Best Lawyers in Canada in the field of Penal Law, since 2006
  • The Best Lawyers in Canada, Lawyer of the Year, Penal Law, 2014
  • Lawyer Emeritus, Ad. E., 2011
  • Fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers, 1994
  • Queen’s Counsel, 1986
Best Lawyer of the Year 2014
Best Lawyers 2021


  • LL.L., Université de Montréal, 1967
  • B.A., Concordia University, 1963


Boards and Professional Affiliations

  • Fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers and president of the Quebec division (2006-2008)
  • Lord Reading Law Society (president 1986-1987)
Back to the Team page